JorZine - CARCASS - Reveal New Album Title

CARCASS - Reveal New Album Title


Carcass' guitarist Bill Steer and bassist/vocalist Jeff Walker were interviewed by Terrorizer magazine and revealed some exclusives about the band's upcoming new and sixth album to be released later this year, their first studio album in 17 years. First of all, the album will be entitled Surgical Steel

Moreover, the band is currently wrapping up the final mixes of Surgical Steel with long-term producer Colin Richardson and are talking to labels to release. Dan Wilding (AbortedHeaven Shall BurnTrigger The Bloodshed) recorded the drum parts and the album also features guest vocals from original drummer Ken Owen.

Guitarist Bill Steer stated: "I found myself playing riffs that sounded like Carcass. This was after the band had finished the whole reunion cycle of shows and festivals. So officially I would have been playing with other bands and stuff, but for some reason whenever I picked up a guitar at home I was coming up with riffs that sounded like Carcass. I got on the phone to Jeff [Walker, bass/vocals] and said, 'We could have a crack at writing a couple of tunes and seeing if they're strong enough and take it from there'. We also agreed, if it didn't sound like Carcass or have that kind of vibe to it, we would just drop it. So that was the thing, we got together and started working on some stuff and just immediately got the excitement back very quickly."

Continues Bill: "It definitely sounds like Carcass. I think we just generally by accident captured the flavour of past music that we have done and you can't help but push it forward. We have really been creative and when you are looking at things like guitar harmonies, it's way more adventurous on this record. It's not just parallel harmony like we did in the past, things branch off in different directions. A lot of what is happening now is based on rhythms rather than actual riffs. We were discussing this a lot during record sessions about how the riff is almost dying or dead already. People spend a lot of time chugging on the bottom string [but] that's a rhythm it's not a riff - we can't write a song, never mind an album, without it being choc-full of riffs."

While the final tracklist has yet to be confirmed, the song titles of the recorded songs were disclosed:

  • The Master Butcher's Apron
  • The Granulating Dark Satanic Mills
  • A Congealed Clot Of Blood
  • A Wraith In The Apparatus
  • 316l Grade Surgical Steel
  • Cadaver Pouch Conveyor System
  • Captive Bolt Pistol
  • Intensive Battery Brooding
  • None Compliance To Astm F899-12 Standard
  • Mount Of Execution
  • 1985/Thrasher's Abattoir
  • Unfit For Human Consumption
  • Zochrot
  • Livestock Marketplace.


Source: Metalstorm.


Supported events

Join Our Newsletter

Advertise here...