JorZine - ALCEST - To Release 'Kodama' Album In September

ALCEST - To Release 'Kodama' Album In September


The French duo Alcest will release their new and fifth album Kodama on September 30th, 2016 via Prophecy Productions, it was just announced. The band has also revealed the album's cover artwork and song titles. "Kodama" is the Japanese word for both "tree spirit" and "echo". The artwork has been done by the French duo Førtifem. Check it out here.





01. Kodama
02. Eclosion
03. Je Suis D'ailleurs
04. Untouched
05. Oiseaux De Proie
06. Onyx

Originally triggered by Hayao Miyazaki's anime film "Princess Mononoke", Kodama picks up on the fate of its protagonist and, at its core, deals with the sensation of not belonging; of living in between worlds, be it city and nature or the physical and spiritual one. Duality is also crucial for the visual approach of the album, realized by French graphic designer duo Førtifem. Paying tribute to Japanese illustrators like Takato Yamamoto, the visuals portray contrasting elements like nature/urbanity, youth/death, femininity/animality and combine poetic elements with darker ones that were not present in Alcest's earlier works.









Supported events

Join Our Newsletter

Advertise here...