JorZine - WHILE HEAVEN WEPT - New Album Cover Art And More Unveiled

WHILE HEAVEN WEPT - New Album Cover Art And More Unveiled


Virginia's long running metallers While Heaven Wept are commemorating their 25th year with the release of their sixth full length album, Suspended At Aphelion, via Nuclear Blast on October 24th (EU) and October 27 (USA). Suspended At Aphelion is featuring a single track divided into 11 parts, performed by the entire Fear Of Infinity line-up as well as several esteemed guests, includingFates Warning former drummer Mark Zonder and co-founding guitarist Victor Arduini. 

The cover art for Suspended At Aphelion was once again created by Gustavo Sazes (Morbid AngelArch Enemy etc.), and three separate audio masters were optimized for LP, CD, and digital download formats. 

The band also reunited with producer/engineer Kevin "131" Gutierrez (RavenDeceasedDysrhythmia) at Assembly Line Studios for the recording of Suspended At Aphelion, 12 years after creating their classic Of Empires Forlorn album together.

While Heaven Wept mainman Tom Phillips offered more insight into the album: "While most of our albums have been thematic, this is the first time we've released something entirely of a conceptual nature in the grand tradition of Pink FloydGenesisRush,MarillionIron MaidenKing DiamondQueensrÿche, and of course Fates Warning...and musically, this album falls somewhere in the middle of all of that with a touch of Viking-era Bathory as well" 

The signature sound of While Heaven Wept remains fully intact, yet has evolved, Phillips explains: "We've always been characterized by emotional sincerity, bombast, sweeping melodies, and dense orchestration, and Suspended At Aphelion is no exception - however, this really is another level for us in that it's the first album featuring all-new material composed in this decade (as opposed to previous releases which often culled from years of archival material), it's full of twists, turns, modulations, time changes, harmonic content rarely heard in metal, and tons of counterpoint. This is all augmented by actual cellos, violins, classical guitars, an array of percussion, and genuine analog synths." 

"Over the last few years, we've had some audiophiles reaching out to us regarding the "loudness wars", so we were very much committed to delivering an album with a wide dynamic range, with very little peak reduction or compression...insuring it was as dynamic and organic as possible versus being Pro-Tooled to death or overtly compressed/limited for loudness...not unlike our labelmates Satyricon, who definitely impacted our approach to Suspended At Aphelion. So you may have to turn it up compared to "X album" from 2014, but we feel like this epic journey is even more gratifying because of this." 

Suspended At Aphelion tracklist: 

01. Introspectus
02. Icarus And I
03. Ardor
04. Heartburst
05. Indifference Turned Paralysis 
06. The Memory Of Bleeding
07. Souls In Permafrost
08. Searching The Stars
09. Reminiscence Of Strangers
10. Lifelines Lost
11. Retrospectus

Source: Metalstorm.


Supported events

Join Our Newsletter

Advertise here...